[Dixielandjazz] Songwriting Competition

Steve barbone barbonestreet at earthlink.net
Fri Sep 9 09:03:58 PDT 2005

Hey all you songwriters, Dixieland, Ragtime and New Orleans music qualifies
for this if you want to submit an original composition.

As Wallace Roney says; "Don't be stuck in the past but retain the greatness
of it.  And live in the moment, live in the future."

Steve Barbone

For Immediate Release...September 8, 2005
International Songwriting Competition Jazz Category

ISC Is Now Accepting Entries For 2005 - Entry Deadline: October 14, 2005
Click here to enter: http://www.songwritingcompetition.com

One of the largest and most prestigious songwriting competitions in the
world, ISC offers entrants a chance to win over $100,000 in cash and
prizes, including an Overall Grand Prize package of $10,000 (US) in cash
and $20,000 in merchandise. ISC is open to both amateur and professional
songwriters of every level, and all jazz musicians/songwriters are invited
to submit their original compositions.

ISC accepts all genres of traditional and contemporary jazz, including
Swing, Bebop, Fusion, Vocal Jazz, Latin, Big Band, New Orleans, Avant-
Garde, Soul-Jazz, Smooth Jazz, Ragtime, Dixieland, Big Band, Salsa, Afro
Jazz, and more.

ISC provides the perfect opportunity for bands, artists, and songwriters
looking to gain increased exposure in the music industry and have their
songs heard by some of the most influential members of the music industry.
"We've always been impressed with the talented songwriters who participate
in the ISC. This is a great A&R source to find new artists." - Monte Lipman
(President, Universal Records)

Entries are judged by influential jazz artists and industry professionals
within the jazz community, including Sonny Rollins, John Scofield, Steve
Vai, and Glen Barros (CEO/President of Concord Records). Past judges have
included Pat Metheny, Branford Marsalis, Arif Mardin (Producer and VP of
Manhattan Records) and Bruce Lundvall (CEO of Blue Note Records).

The complete panel of ISC 2005 judges includes: Sonny Rollins; John
Scofield; Steve Vai; Glen Barros (CEO/President, Concord Records); Tom
Waits; Loretta Lynn; Macy Gray; Joss Stone; MercyMe; Amy Ray (Indigo
Girls); Darryl McDaniels (Run D.M.C.); LeAnn Rimes; Isaac Brock (Modest
Mouse); Jeff Stinco (Simple Plan); BeBe Winans; Peter Hook (New Order);
Benji Madden (Good Charlotte); Charlie Musselwhite; The Donnas; Monte
Lipman (President, Universal Records); Keith Wozencroft (President, Capitol
Music UK) Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records); Cameron
Strang (President, New West Records); Dan Storper (President, Putumayo
World Music); Michael McDonald (President, ATO Records); Alexandra Patsavas
(Owner, The Chop Shop Music Supervision - credits include The OC, Grey's
Anatomy, Without A Trace, Carnivale, Rescue Me ); Darrale Jones (VP A&R
Urban, Atlantic Records); Chris Parr (VP Music Programming & Talent
Relations, CMT); Barbara Sedun (VP Creative, EMI Music Publishing Canada);
Tara Griggs-Magee (Executive VP of Gospel/Urban Music, Sony Records); Leib
Ostrow (CEO, Music For Little People), Thomas Brooman (Co-Founder/Artistic
Director, WOMAD); Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment);
Emily Wittmann (Vice-President, Nick Records); Patrick Moxey (President,
Ultra Records/You Records/Sequence Records/Escondida Music/Empire Mgmt.)
and Danny Epstein (Music Supervisor, Sesame Street/Sesame Workshop).

ISC also has two additional categories that may be of particular interest
to jazz artists, an Instrumental category that include all genres of
instrumental music (including jazz) and a Performance category that is
based not only on songwriting but also on the overall delivery of the song.

ISC also includes other categories in addition to Jazz, Instrumental, and
Performance, and you may enter these as well. The complete list of
categories is: Jazz, Instrumental, Performance, Pop/Top 40; Rock; World
Music; R&B/Hip-Hop; Country; AAA/Roots/Americana; Gospel/Christian; Blues;
Folk/Singer-Songwriter; Dance/Electronica; Children's Music; Lyrics Only;
and Teen (18 yrs. old or younger).

ISC sponsors include: Epiphone, Berklee College Of Music, Fishman, ADK
Microphones, Tascam, Moog Music, L.R. Baggs, FYE, Hear Technologies, Sam
Ash Music Stores, Sibelius, Music Registry, Alphabet Arm Design, Sonicbids,
Mediaguide, ArtistMonitor, Disc Makers, Planetary Group, and

For more information, call 615.251.4441 or go to the ISC website at

International Songwriting Competition
211 Seventh Avenue North, Suite LL-20
Nashville, TN 37219
Phone: 615.251.4441
Fax: 615.251.4442

More information about the Dixielandjazz mailing list