[Dixielandjazz] Re: Info on the virus problem with the Dixieland mailing list.

Flip Oakes flip at flipoakes.com
Thu Mar 4 15:47:57 PST 2004

Hello Craig,

I have a Mac G3, and I use Norton's Anti Virus. I also subscribe to the
updates, as as far as I know, my email is virus free.

It's been a long tome since I have posted as well.... I have never sent a
attachment to the DJML to my knowledge.

I have even got email from The Flip Oakes Team, and I have no idea who or
what that is either.... It sure isn't me.

Please let me know if you find anything different.

All The Best,

Flip Oakes

Flip Oakes ³Wild Thing Trumpets²

"To read what  Wild Thing owners say about their horns, click on this"

Flip Oakes 
2559 Mottino Dr.
Oceanside, Ca. 92056
760-643-1511 FAX

To Hear the Flip Oakes Wild Thing Trumpet go to

> From: "Craig Johnson" <civanj at adelphia.net>
> Organization: CIJ Associates LLC
> Date: Thu, 4 Mar 2004 18:30:23 -0500
> To: "Dixieland Jazz Mailing List" <dixielandjazz at ml.islandnet.com>
> Cc: <flip at flipoakes.com>
> Subject: Fw: Info on the virus problem with the Dixieland mailing list.
> Sorry to go back to this, but I sent the headers (you folks sent to me) and
> my
> suppositions to the Mail list server provider and the response is
> below my signature
> . In short it appears that IN THIS CASE the notes were NOT
> sent directly to you folks but indeed were actually posted to the list
> so they got sent out as being normal. Somehow the send faked the
> e-mail address of Flip Oakes (masqueraded as him.) That is why the
> note was accepted.
> But then the note carried a second "unseen" header that was given to the
> server
> allowing the post to"change disguises during the dance" and emerged looking
> like the
> server administrator. I DID INDEED carry a virus if you opened it.
> So - be warned if you did. Again we repeat, attachments are not
> considered legit on this list so, don't open any of them and you'll be safe.
> As the admin fellow said, short of having a moderator look at every
> note before it gets posted nothing else can be done. As someone else
> said before, this is the Internet, this is its present state and we have to
> learn to
> deal with it. Short of one question I have of the administrator I believe
> all we can
> do is be vigilant.
> IF FLIP is reading this? --- Did you get with a virus on your machine that
> MIGHT have contributed to this? I doubt it, but would like to know.
> Musical content -- "Masquerade"
> Regards,
> Craig Johnson
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "Ron Brogden" <domains at islandnet.com>
> To: "Craig Johnson" <civanj at adelphia.net>
> Sent: Thursday, March 04, 2004 2:25 PM
> Subject: Re: Info on the problem with the Dixieland mailing list.
> | On March 3, 2004 07:10 pm, you wrote:
> | > Here are the headers andm Subject line  ONLY;   not forwarded, no attach
> | > etc.
> | > -- although I do have a copy saved (unopened.)
> |
> | Hello Craig.  In this specific case a virus infected message did go out to
> the
> | list. The problem was that the SMTP "mail from" header was specified as
> | "flip at flipoakes.com" who is on the list but the From: field was set to the
> | fake address "administration at islandnet.com".  Mailman accepted the "Mail
> | From:" address but posted using the From: field address (which I do not
> | like but that is a different issue).  Regardless, that is why the message
> was
> | accepted.  Short of setting the moderation bit on every user these is
> | unfortunately no way to stop this type of thing since an open list is by
> its
> | very nature an open list.
> |
> | Ron
> |
> | -- 
> | islandnet.com
> | http://www.islandnet.com
> | support at islandnet.com
> | ph: (250) 383-0096 fax: (250) 383-6698
> |

More information about the Dixielandjazz mailing list