[Dixielandjazz] Warning. --- Possible viruses through this mailinglist...

Craig Johnson civanj at adelphia.net
Mon Mar 1 15:02:59 PST 2004

Ron Brogdon at islandnet responded to a note sent directly to the
provider (islandnet.com) He states that these kinds of spam are
usually not from the actual addres, but are more likely to have
happened at our own provider using islandnet as a phony address.
Thus it is surpising to me that you received on also. I had almost
been convinced to address my provider -- Adelphia.net,

By the way, I'm doing a virus scan on my own machine right now.
-- normally this is done for me automatically every day.

If you still have that message in your virus "catcher", can you get the 1st
"Received" entries - copy them and send them to me in the body of a note?
-- Please? Those,according to Ron are the only 2 lines that cannot be
:"Spoofed" - They are added directly by your own mail server and show
where it received the message from.
I'll continue to research this

----- Original Message ----- 
From: "G. William Oakley" <gwilliamoakley at earthlink.net>
To: "Craig Johnson" <civanj at adelphia.net>
Cc: "DJML" <dixielandjazz at ml.islandnet.com>
Sent: Monday, March 01, 2004 12:34 PM
Subject: Re: [Dixielandjazz] Warning. --- Possible viruses through this

| My Norton just flagged the very message you cite.
| ----- Original Message ----- 
| From: "Craig Johnson" <civanj at adelphia.net>
| To: <Dixielandjazz at ml.islandnet.com>
| Cc: "Robert S. Ringwald" <ringwald at calweb.com>
| Sent: Monday, March 01, 2004 11:39 AM
| Subject: [Dixielandjazz] Warning. --- Possible viruses through this
| mailinglist...
| > I have received and am still receiving notes which purport to
| > be from this mailing list and this site. First DON'T OPEN ANY
| > ATTACHMENTS from here until this is resolved.
| >
| > At the same time, I was prevented from posting to this site the other
| > day -- of course I might have gotten the address wrong -- we'll see
| > if this gets posted -- so I've sent Bob Ringwald another note anyway.
| > (I think I left out the."ml" part of the address -- using an old address
| > book entry.)
| >
| > ANYWAY, there is still a problem
| > There were a couple of posts from Meg Graf from Uoregon.edu which said
| > "waiting for your report" -- with an attachment. I questioned it in a
| > to her
| > and she said she NEVER sent it. Just today my spam catcher got a note
| > and marked  it "possible virus". It had sent from h-01 at ml.islandnet.com.
| > It too was suspicious. Its subject was "Your document" and the body of
| > note said "your file is attached." Of course I have not opened it and in
| > fact
| > will delete it on the server without downloading it at all. Somehow -- 
| > have a
| > problem here with someone trying to mess us up.
| >
| > Luckily I scan the messages subject line and content for certain things
| > before
| > I accept them as from this list, but at least the one supposedly from
| > included
| > what I scan for. The others did not.
| >
| > To Bob Ringwald ) --I also got a "mailing list reminder" from
| mailman-owner
| > at
| > ml.islandnet.com which suggests I can modify my membership by link to a
| > URL on the site. I hope that this is legit (I think it may be) because
| > contained
| > my password in open text. (NOt a great idea anyway.)
| >
| > Regards to all
| > Craig Johnson
| >
| >
| > _______________________________________________
| > Dixielandjazz mailing list
| > Dixielandjazz at ml.islandnet.com
| > http://ml.islandnet.com/mailman/listinfo/dixielandjazz
| >

More information about the Dixielandjazz mailing list